Lincoln’s Birthday is near.

1456546_10204660659095168_4822946817099188483_n

I attended a small gathering for authors at Sol Treasures on February 6th. The imminence of “President’s Day” moved me to share an anecdote about Abraham Lincoln, one that I included in Dawn Drums. I had not read that selection in public before and I was surprised that I had trouble getting through it.  Lincoln’s compassion humbles me – humbles us all – when I dwell upon all he endured. Writing the book was a great gift to me because I lived with his words in my mind for several years.  May they remain close always.

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Visits, Front Page, The Civil War Remembered

Leave a Reply

